Reflective Learning Journal

They always say “ The best 4 years in your life, are the ones of your college experience”. When I was at school i always looked forward to college, as everyone fantasizes about college life. Unfortunately, We are not lucky enough to experience the best college life. Last semester, spring 2020, was a life changing one. In few weeks, the entire education system , from nursery to universities, changed to a whole new level. Campuses were closed and classes were taken online. In a blink of an eye, everything changed and everyone was in shock. I will explain to you our experience in Egypt, the news was demonstrated that china and the US had a spreading virus that has no cure. Then they said that other countries had the virus and most of the countries started shutting down. However, still in Egypt we had no idea that the virus is here or it’s ever coming. One day in March, we went to classes regularly on campus, and we went back home, we never knew that this was the last day to be in campus. Our university was the first to take an action, they decided to give us a break for one week for our safety and for them to figure out what they’ll do next. Then they said that we will have only two weeks online, we had hopes to back on campus. Then the country imposed the lockdown, since then we never knew what’s going next. As a student, I was overwhelmed with everything happening in the world. I never thought that I’d experience something like this. The whole world is shutdown, everyone is locked in his/her house. Not only that but also there is a deadly virus we know nothing about.  Aside from all the fears I had,  on the educational level had this hope that we’re getting back on campus after these 2 weeks, because I did not want to spend my last semesters at home. Definitely, Covid-19 impacted our college experiences. Now not only spring 2020 was online but also my last year in college will be online. I will graduate through zoom, it was hard for me to know that even the last semester will be online. There are so many reasons why I am against online learning. On the educational level, a lot had changed both negatively and positively. But in my opinion there are so many negatives. To begin with, it has been almost two semesters learning online, it is not as easy as everyone thought it is so much harder than it looks. I thought that learning from home would be time consuming. However, it is exactly the opposite and I feel lost most of the time. I lose track of the assignments and quizzes. I have five courses each semester with a different doctor and each doctor uses a different platforms to be in contact with us and most of them use more than one platform. Until now I am overwhelmed with too much platforms from zoom to emails and from blackboard to Panopto, THIS IS TOO MUCH!! I wish doctors would have used only one tool to announce everything on. Another thing I found difficulties through online learning is that I can’t concentrate on zoom classes. It is so hard to concentrate with the doctor while you’re on bed and opening from your laptop. Even if I opened my camera I lose track of what the doctor is saying. I can’t find a solution for this but definitely I will!! I don’t feel that I benefit from online learning, going to classes and interacting with my doctors and colleagues was so much better. One of the difficulties i had was group projects, specially with students I don’t even know. It is the hardest thing ever to communicate with people you don’t know. Because of Covid-19, we don’t even meet w talk on the phone or have zoom meeting to discuss our projects. I think working alone is way better, even if I am making double the work.  I know that online classes is out of my hands, so I decided to make the best out of it. This is my last year in college so I decided to make it an unconditional experience. I wanted to focus more in classes, so I chose to wake up early, do my breakfast and get out of bed and go drink my coffee in Starbucks and listen to my lectures there. This makes me concentrate more and interested more to listen to my lectures. I can give this advice to anyone who is tired from listening to lectures from their bed, go out and try to change your setting just to give your self a boost to focus more. Another advice, is to write down all your assignments, quizzes and exams on your calendar and activate reminders(it really helps). After getting lost as I mentioned above, I got an advice from a friend to write down all due dates, just to keep track of everything and never feel lost and it really worked well. I know that all of this is overwhelming, but trust me this will pass. I know it is hard not to see your friends everyday, which was the best part of college experience, I know you can’t join any clubs or do any activities anymore, but try to make the best out of this period.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started